“That’s right, put in work. Move your ass, go wizzerk. Eat your salad, no dessert. Get that man you deserve” (Kanye’s The New Workout Plan)

I seriously considered going on Kanye’s new workout plan as my something new for about one second, but then I decided that I don’t need an NBA player or a double wide, and I like dessert far too much to replace it with salads.  Plus, I don’t think I’m capable of the whole wizzerk thing – I’m just not cool enough.

Instead, I opted for the Body Architect class at my gym as my something new.  I generally stay away from gym classes.  I have this tendency to get light headed which sometimes results in me fainting (I’ve fainted everywhere: a church, a food store, a subway station, a shower – you name it).  One trigger of this dizziness is strenuous physical activity without small breaks.  So, I like to lift on my own, taking several second breaks between sets or stretching in the middle.

But, my gym membership costs more than some people’s rent, so I occasionally get mad at myself for not taking advantage of the classes.  Yesterday, I noticed a full body workout class that included stretching between exercises, and I decided to take a chance.  After about twenty minutes and no stretch breaks, I started getting light headed and was really worried I would have to leave the class.  It was a great workout too, challenging each muscle group with different lifting techniques, but I wasn’t about to add gym to my list of fainting spots.  To my relief, the instructor started introducing stretching at about the time I was going to fall over, and those 5-10 second breaks made all the difference.  I made it through the class and can barely move today, which in my mind means a successful workout!

I’m thinking of going back to the class and maybe trying a few more classes, inserting my own time for stretching even if no one else does.  I still like lifting on my own because it’s nice to go at my speed, but I’m open to some more classes as somethings new.